President Palin's First 100 Days

Victor Davis Hanson looks at an alternate version of history, where Sarah Palin was elected president in 2008, but has made the same choices, mistakes, fumbles that Obama has, and offers the different reaction from the media for them.

This is one of my favorite parts:

IT’S THE MATH, STUPID!
“Well,” lectured Paul Krugman, again in the Times, “we were worried that they didn’t teach math at Idaho U., and now we know for sure they don’t. Is it $1.6 trillion, $1.7 trillion, or $2 trillion in red ink this year? Are we supposed to be impressed that she offers ‘fiscal sobriety’ by cutting 0.003 percent of the budget? She gives out money to those who don’t pay taxes and calls it a tax cut. And now Queen Sarah tells us that in four years she’ll ‘halve’ the deficit, as if she hasn’t borrowed another $5 trillion in the meantime. Does she think we’re morons? How many ‘Drill, baby, drill!’ oil wells can she tap into up there in Alaska to pay for the extra $11 trillion in debt she’s saddling us with?”

Read the whole thing.

AP Calls White House Stimulus Stories Bunk

The White House made rose-colored predictions about the success of the stimulus, like it would prevent the unemployment rate from going above 8% (it’s now at 8.9% if you haven’t been paying attention) they are resorting to even more lies to justify the ridiculous spending… And you know how ridculous they are when even the AP is willing to call them out.

In his first quarterly report on the nation’s stimulus package, Vice President Joe Biden uses anecdotes to paint a glowing picture of an economy on the rebound. In reality, the picture is incomplete and the colors far more muted.

[…]

Capturing the full effect of the stimulus at this early stage is difficult, but the administration has set high bars for success. In championing those successes, however, the White House plays a little loose with the facts.

The article goes into some detail about how Biden cherry-picked information, or just talked B.S..

Read it. It is pretty funny the crap they think they can get away with…

UPDATE, by Mark Noonan: Its all gone wrong, my friends…Obama and Co are living in a fantasy world. All the talk of a rebound is just that – talk. Retail sales figures tell the true story.

Cheney Tells It Like It Is

Gotta love Cheney.

Former Vice President Dick Cheney on Sunday continued his verbal attack against President Obama, saying that the country is more vulnerable to a potential terrorist attack since the Obama administration took power.

Mr. Cheney said that administration’s dismantling of many of the policies and protections instituted by President George W. Bush after the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks — including the planned closing of the Guantanamo Bay detention camp in Cuba and halting controversial prisoner interrogation techniques — have made the country more vulnerable to future attacks.

“That’s my belief,” Mr. Cheney said on CBS’ “Face the Nation.” “I think to the extent that those [Bush-era] policies were responsible for saving lives, that the administration is now trying to cancel those policies … means in the future we’re not going to have the same safeguards we’ve had for the last eight years.” 

Cheney also explained how waterboarding saved American lives.

The former vice president defended controversial interrogation techniques such as waterboarding, saying that it had been an effective tool in extracting useful information from suspected terrorists such as Khalid Shaikh Mohammed, who is accused of helping carry out the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks Washington and New York.

“He did not cooperate fully in terms of interrogations until after waterboarding,” Mr. Cheney said. “Once we went through that process, he produced vast quantities of invaluable information about al Qaida.” 

Of course, Obama’s White House wants everyone to believe that previously ineffective interrogation techniques that weren’t working would suddenly work.

UPDATE, by Mark Noonan: And I expect 100% of your liberals to congratulate Vice President Cheney for exercising the highest form of patriotism: criticizing the President.

Obama Lacks Class

Last night was the White House Correspondents’ dinner, as you may have heard, and amongst a whole slew of jokes, Obama made one that just didn’t sit well with me. He joked that Dick Cheney couldn’t make the dinner because he was working on his memoir tentatively titled, ‘How to Shoot Friends and Interrogate People.’

First, the reference to the hunting accident. As a someone new to hunting, and therefore recently completed a hunting safety course, I find joking about a hunting accident to be poor taste. Hunting may be a generally safe sport, but hunting accidents do occur and people have been killed. There’s nothing funny about that. 

Second, the interrogation line… What gets me about this is that Obama thinks “enhanced interrogations” are torture, so, for all you pro-Al  qaeda liberals ought to shocked that Obama would find that something to make a joke about.

Now, does this really surprise me? Well, to be honest, the part of the joke about interrogation surprised me more than the hunting part because Obama has no class at all. Remember his joke about the Special Olympics? Remember how he mocked the tea parties? But really, if you are someone who really believes that enhanced interrogation is torture, do you really think that it is appropriate to joke about it?

On Hunting

I forgot to mention this earlier, but last Saturday I went on my very first wild turkey hunt. It actually wasn’t just my first wild turkey hunt, it my first experience hunting anything. I went with my future father-in-law around 4:50 am. About 15 minutes in we heard a turkey roosting up in a tree about 25 yards away. He gobbled off and on for about an hour. Finally, at about 6:05 am he pitched down, and in a manner of seconds I took my safety off and shot. Got him right in the neck.

Here is me with my game after my successful first hunt:

My turkey weighed in at 20.02 lbs., had 27/32″ spurs, and a 10″ beard.

So, as a new hunter, I’d love to hear from other hunters who visit Blogs For Victory. What do you hunt? How long have you hunted? Any tips for a new hunter like me? I know my first hunting experience was easier than maybe most are, so I’d love to hear about some of your own.

Pelosi Knew About "Enhanced Interrogations"

From Paul Kane at the Washington Post:

Intelligence officials released documents this evening saying that House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) was briefed in September 2002 about the use of harsh interrogation tactics against al-Qaeda prisoners, seemingly contradicting her repeated statements over the past 18 months that she was never told that these techniques were actually being used. 

In a 10-page memo outlining an almost seven-year history of classified briefings, intelligence officials said that Pelosi and then-Rep. Porter Goss (R-Fla.) were the first two members of Congress ever briefed on the interrogation tactics. Then the ranking member and chairman of the House Intelligence Committee, respectively, Pelosi and Goss were briefed Sept. 4, 2002, one week before the first anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks.

It is pretty sad isn’t it? That Democrats are so desperate to appease their liberal base that they will publicly oppose methods of interrogation that have kept our country safe and without another terrorist attack? Why would anyone want to placate a group of people who care more about terrorists than the lives of Americans?

Obama's Hypocrisy on Deficits

Are we seriously going to let this fool get away with this statement?

“We can no longer afford to spend as if deficits don’t matter and waste is not our problem,” [Obama] said. “We can no longer afford to leave the hard choices for the next budget, the next administration — or the next generation.”

Need we be reminded

Mr. Obama’s budget predicted total deficits for the next decade of nearly $7 trillion. The Congressional Budget Office analysis of his plan put the figure at nearly $9.3 trillion, or a third higher.

Here’s an interesting look at the deficit… from the Bush years through the projections of the next ten.

$328,835 Wasted

The Obama Administration’s Air Force One Photo Op gaffe, which cost $328,835, is now truly $328,835 gone down the drain as the photos taken during that 9/11-esque stunt won’t be released to the public.

The $328,835 snapshots of an Air Force One backup plane buzzing lower Manhattan last week will not be shown to the public, the White House said yesterday.

“We have no plans to release them,” an aide to President Obama told The Post, refusing to comment further.

The sole purpose of the secret photo-op, which sent thousands of New Yorkers running for cover, was to take new publicity shots of the presidential jet over the city.

“The photos . . . are classified — that’s ridiculous,” Councilman Peter Vallone Jr., said.

The photos have not technically been “classified,” a White House aide said, but they are being kept from public view.

New Yorkers said they could not understand how a president who shares intimate snapshots from the White House could justify keeping these secret.

“So we’re not gonna see the fruits of this cruel joke?” said Frank Antonelli, 39, one of the Wall Street traders spooked by last week’s flyover.

“I’m not surprised. Obama . . . wouldn’t further all the bad publicity by putting out those pictures.”

This White House truly is the most incompetent… hell, some of them can’t even spell.

Eff That

I will disagree with the left on ideological issues regularly, and respectfully, but I cannot respect such an insane thing as what Tony Bennett said about this dumbass we have in the White House:

Grammy-award winning musician Tony Bennett told CNSNews.com he “loves everything” Barack Obama has done in his first 100 days as president and thinks every American should “give him all-out support for anything he wants to do.”

Oh yeah? Does he love his picking of tax cheats and incompetants to serve in his administration? Does he love all the promises he has broken? Does he love how Obama has divided America, or laid the groundwark to free captured terrorists?

I am sorry, I don’t care how much you support any politician, blind acceptance of one person’s actions is dangerous. I really hope our liberal readers here would be smart enough to disagree with Bennett’s statements. His kind of sad, brainless Obamaphelia is what makes Obama so dangerous — because there are so many on the left so desperate to see Obama be a success they will outright ignore his faults and failures.

Souter To Retire

Now I am really sick… Obama is going get to pick a replacement. Obama… how can someone so inexperienced, unqualified, and incompetent ever be put in that position? 

NPR has learned that Supreme Court Justice David Souter is planning to retire at the end of the current court term.

The vacancy will give President Obama his first chance to name a member of the high court and begin to shape its future direction.

Uggh…

UPDATE: Interesting.